Joseph P. Mazer, Clemson University

The Basic Communication Course Annual (BCCA) was first published in 1988 after the Midwest Basic Course Directors Conference. The Annual publishes the best scholarship available on topics related to the basic communication course and is distributed nationally to scholars and educators interested in the basic communication course.

Manuscripts published in the Annual are not restricted to any particular methodology or approach. They must, however, address issues significant to the basic course (defined broadly). In 2013, the Annual began including a Basic Course Forum section for shorter essays responding to a specific question. In 2016, the University of Dayton Department of Communication acquired the journal and its archives from the initial publisher and began publishing it as an open-access journal.

The submission process is now open for Volume 30. Use the links in the left column for information or to submit a paper.

Current Volume: Volume 29 (2017)

Front Matter


Editor's Page
Joseph M. Valenzano III



Basic Communication Course Students’ Perceptions of the Purpose and Their Role in the Peer Feedback Process
Angela M. Hosek, Stevie Munz, Keith C. Bistodeau, Zamzam Jama, Andrew Frisbie, and Sonia Rains Ivancic


A Blended Basic Course Examination of Communication Apprehension and Self-Efficacy: A Comparative Analysis
Michael G. Strawser, Amy. L. Housley Gaffney, Allyson DeVito, Sarah E. Kercsmar, and Michael Pennell



Universal Adaptation: The Need to Enhance Accessibility in the Basic Course
Michael G. Strawser, Brandi N. Frisby, and Renee Kaufmann

Back Matter


Call for Manuscripts
Joseph P. Mazer


Joseph M. Valenzano III
Review Board
Lindsey Anderson
LeAnn M. Brazeal
Melissa Broeckelman-Post
Mark Butland
Katherine J. Denker
Deanna Fassett
Amy Gaffney
Jonathan Hess
Tracey Quigley Holden
John F. Hooker
Angela M. Hosek
Adam C. Jones
Jeffrey Kuznekoff
Andrew Ledbetter
Luke LeFebvre
Joseph Mazer
Brad Mello
Kevin Meyer
Andrea Patterson
Cheri Simonds
Cynthia Smith
Blair C. Thompson
William Upchurch
Beth Wagganspack
Samuel P. Wallace
Beth Walter
Tiffany R. Wang
Joshua Westwick