University of Dayton

eCommons

Faculty Board Governing Documents

Faculty Board

Fall 8-31-2018

2018-08-31 Minutes of the Faculty Board

University of Dayton, Faculty Board

Follow this and additional works at: https://ecommons.udayton.edu/facboard_governance

Recommended Citation

University of Dayton, Faculty Board, "2018-08-31 Minutes of the Faculty Board" (2018). *Faculty Board Governing Documents*. 2. https://ecommons.udayton.edu/facboard_governance/2

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Board at eCommons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Board Governing Documents by an authorized administrator of eCommons. For more information, please contact frice1@udayton.edu, mschlangen1@udayton.edu.

Faculty Board Meeting Minutes 21 August 2018 Roesch 501

Present: Debbie Archambeault, Christopher Agnew, Philip Appiah-Kubi, Janet Bednarek, Samuel Dorf, Mary Fisher, V. Denise James, Katy Kelly, Caroline Merithew, Leno Pedrotti, Blake Watson, Andrea Wells Absent: Catherine Zois

The meeting was called to order by 2017/2018 acting chair Katy Kelly at 11:00 am.

Old Business

1. The minutes of the April 10 2018 meeting were approved.

New Business

1. 2017/2018 acting chair Katy Kelly oversaw the election of the officers of the 2018/2019 Faculty Board. The following officers of the Faculty Board were elected for the 2018/2019 term:

Chair: Christopher Agnew Vice Chair: Janet Bednarek Secretary: Leno Pedrotti

- 2. Christopher Agnew assumed the role of chair of the meeting.
- 3. Faculty Board representation on Academic Senate subcommittees
 - a) The following members were appointed to represent the Faculty Board on Academic Senate subcommittees:

Academic Policies Committee (APC): Philip Appiah-Kubi Faculty Affairs Committee (FAC): Mary Fisher Student Academic Policies Committee (SAPC): Andrea Wells

- b) It was noted that Faculty Board representatives are not voting members of Academic Senate subcommittees. The possibility of moving this year to make Faculty Board representatives voting members of Academic Senate subcommittees was raised.
- 4. The following members were appointed to chair the standing subcommittees of the Faculty Board:

Salary: Caroline Merithew Benefits: Janet Bednarek Faculty Rights and Governance: V. Denise James

- 5. The following issues were brought forward for possible consideration by the Faculty Board in the 2018/2019 term:
 - a) Faculty-staff dining options on campus
 - b) Equity issues surrounding the classification of faculty
 - c) Participation in the update of the Faculty Handbook generally and specifically with regards to faculty classification.
 - d) Issues related to accessibility
- 6. Fall meeting of the Faculty Association
 - a) It was agreed that the fall meeting of the Faculty Association, to be hosted by the Faculty Board, should take place over an extended lunch period sometime in the month before Thanksgiving. Various members of the Faculty Board agreed to facilitate the scheduling of this meeting.
 - b) Issues surrounding faculty classification, including descriptions in the Faculty Handbook, was suggested as a possible topic for the fall meeting of the Faculty Association. There was general consensus that this would be a good topic for the meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 12:00 pm.

Submitted by Leno M Pedrotti