University of Dayton

eCommons

Educational Leadership Council (ELC) Meeting Notes

University Documents and Records

12-20-2021

2021-12-20 Meeting Notes of the Educational Leadership Council

University of Dayton

Follow this and additional works at: https://ecommons.udayton.edu/elc_notes

Educational Leadership Council

December 20, 2021 Via Zoom 10:30am-12:00noon

Present: Maureen Anderson, Paul Benson, Carlos Bernal, Ali Carr-Chellman, Trevor Collier, Jennifer Dalton, Lee Dixon, Sam Dorf, Jim Farrelly, Sharon Gratto, Andy Horner, Fr. Joseph Kozar, SM, Carissa Krane, Jason Pierce, Margie Pinnell, Eric Spina, Andy Strauss, Kathy Webb, Sarah Webber, Tom Weckesser, Mary Ziskin

Guest: Troy Washington

Excused: Joanna Abdallah, Philip Appiah-Kubi, Jada Brown, Neomi DeAnda

Carols Bernal began the meeting with a prayer and reflection.

1. Remote and flexible work policy

Vice President Troy Washington joined the meeting and shared highlights regarding the University's final remote work and flexible schedule policy. The process to finalize the policy included consultations with the President's Council, President's Commission on the Status of Women, HR Advisory Council, Audit and Risk Management, Legal Affairs, Payroll, and the University's Policy Coordination Committee.

Implementation will begin in early January 2022 following a message that will be sent to campus with information about the process and a link to the required form to complete.

2. Sponsorship and faculty hiring

Provost Paul Benson discussed faculty sponsorship and an overview of the procedures to follow. Effective 2020, the University no longer sponsors non-tenure track faculty lines, and before a tenure-track line can be advertised and recruited, the department/unit must address two questions regarding the hire: Is substantial international experience directly relevant to the position description? And, will sponsorship be needed in order to attract a deep, well qualified applicant pool? UD continues to offer sponsorship but, for financial reasons, it is restricted in certain areas.

3. Other

Additional topics addressed included the current COVID-19 environment and an update of the CSIT work.

In closing, Carlos Bernal and Mary Ziskin were thanked for their service on ECAS and ELC as they step off the committees.

Joanna Abdallah, Philip Appiah-Kubi, Paul H. Benson, Carlos Bernal, Jada Brown, Sarah Cahalan, Ali Carr-Chellman, Trevor Collier, Jennifer Dalton, Neomi DeAnda, Lee Dixon, Sam Dorf, Jim Farrelly, Sharon Gratto, Andrew Horner, Fr. Joseph Kozar, SM, Carissa Krane, Jason Pierce, Margie Pinnell, Eric F. Spina, Andy Strauss, Kathy Webb, Sarah Webber, Tom Weckesser, Mary Ziskin