William McCoy

Original Listing

Paul Laurence Dunbar, The Boogah Man

Biographical Information

(1848–1926) William J. McCoy was an American composer from Ohio. He began to compose at the age of 12 and was sent to New York to study with William Mason; he later studied at the Leipzig Conservatory with Reinecke and Hauptmann. He wrote chamber music, pieces for orchestra, an opera, incidental music for plays, and choral works including a Mass in D minor. His Symphony in F was conducted in Leipzig by Reinecke in 1872. His opera Egypt received the Bispham Medal of the American Opera Society of Chicago.



To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.