Honors Theses


Patrick Reynolds



Publication Date

Spring 4-2014

Document Type

Honors Thesis


This research project examines music by twentieth-century American composers Michael Colgrass, Joseph Schwantner, and Ross Lee Finney in order to compare how different composers present an aural conception to their audience through the wind ensemble medium. An aural conception is the subject upon which the music is commenting; sight (subject) through sound. The study includes an analysis of soundscapes- collections of sounds that form an acoustic representation of an action or objectin works created by Colgrass, Schwantner, and Finney. The project involves analyses of form, orchestration, and of the text, or story, about which the composer is writing. The works analyzed are Winds of Nagual by Michael Colgrass, …and the Mountains Rising Nowhere by Joseph Schwantner, and Skating on the Sheyenne by Ross Lee Finney. Based on these analyses of the works, interviews with conductors and composers, and an examination of other

Permission Statement

This item is protected by copyright law (Title 17, U.S. Code) and may only be used for noncommercial, educational, and scholarly purposes.


Undergraduate research


Arts and Humanities | Music

Included in

Music Commons